# Deactivate or reactivate the app user

- Updated on Apr 29, 2025
- Published on May 21, 2024
- 2 minute(s) read

## Introduction

This guide explains how to [deactivate](https://help.sanas.ai/v1/docs/how-to-deactivate-a-user#deactivate-app-user-via-portal-ui) an app user and how to [reactivate](https://help.sanas.ai/v1/docs/how-to-deactivate-a-user#reactivate-app-user) a previously deactivated one.

## Before you begin

- **Access**: You’ll need access to the **Sanas Portal** to follow the procedure below.

- **Limitation**: The portal users can take the following actions:

- **Admin**: Deactivate or reactivate an app user from any Team within the Workspace.

- **Supervisor**: Deactivate or reactivate the app user from the assigned Teams only.

## Deactivate app user (via Portal UI)

> 📔**Note**: Avoid manual app user deactivation with [automatic deactivation for inactive app users](https://help.sanas.ai/v1/docs/automatic-inactive-app-users-deactivation). Automatic detactivation is currently limited to the **Accent Translation** Workspaces.

1. Log in to the [Sanas Portal](https://portal2.sanas.ai/) using your credentials.
2. Click **Users** from the navigation menu and ensure the **App users** tab is selected.
3. Select the Team containing the users you want to deactivate.

4. Select the check box next to the app user(s) you want to deactivate. Use the search bar to find app users in the selected team.
5. Click **Deactivate users.**

6. In the confirmation dialog box, click **Deactivate** to confirm your action.

.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)

7. Review the deactivated app users to confirm the changes. See [Review deactivated app users](https://help.sanas.ai/v1/docs/review-deactivated-app-users).

## Deactivate app user (via Bulk import)

1. Log in to the [Sanas Portal](https://www.portal2.sanas.ai/) using your credentials.
2. Click **Users** from the navigation menu.
3. Click **Bulk import**. Opens the bulk import window.

.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)

4. Ensure the **App users** tab is selected.
5. Click **Download template**.

.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)

6. Open the downloaded template and enter the following users’ details:

> 📔**Note**: Enter **Yes** in the template’s deactivate column next to the user you wish to deactivate. You may encounter an error if the user details you entered are incorrect.

| Parameter | Value |
   | --------- | ----- |
   | User ID  | User ID of the app user |
   | Name     | Full name |
   | Team     | Currently assigned Team |
   | Deactivate | `Yes` |

7. Click **Select Excel** file to browse and upload the prepared template file from your computer.

.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)

8. Click **Review upload** to analyze the action.
   1. If you encounter an error, review the details or click **Download error report** for detailed analysis. Modify the template file accordingly and re-upload it.
   
      .png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)
   
   2. If the template uploads successfully, review the actions or click **Download report** for a detailed analysis.
      .png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)
9. Click **Confirm upload** to save changes.

## Reactivate the app user

1. Log in to the [Sanas Portal](https://portal2.sanas.ai/) using your credentials.
2. Click **Users** from the navigation menu. Ensure the **App users** tab is selected.
3. Click **View deactivated users** under the ellipsis ( **⋮**) menu option.
   .png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)
4. Select the check box next to the app user(s) you want to reactivate.
5. Click **Activate**.
   .png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)
6. Click **Activate** to confirm your action. Reactivated app users are reassigned to the Team they were assigned to before deactivation.
   .png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A42Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A42Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=4sorjXDvwg6uP0lc%2FJuJPoStoZGz%2FX9y6LDpdn4AeAQ%3D)

## Support

**Need help?** Get in touch with our [Support Team](mailto:support@sanas.ai) for assistance.
