# Automatic deactivation for inactive app users

- Updated on Jul 9, 2025
- Published on Mar 5, 2025

- 1 minute(s) read

### About

The following guide explains how to configure the automatic deactivation of inactive app users.

> 📔**Note**:  The feature is currently limited to the **Accent Translation** workspaces only.

### What is Automatic Deactivation?

Automatic deactivation is an app user management feature that eliminates the need for manual deactivation for inactive app users. The feature, upon configuration in a Workspace, automatically deactivates app users once no app activity is recorded against the user for a defined period.

**How does auto-deactivation work?**

- **Auto-deactivation configuration**: The admin user configures auto-deactivation for inactive app users on a Workspace and defines the inactivity period.
- **Active users**: The app user is considered active until the system records at least one app activation during the period.
- **Inactivity measurement**: The inactivity period of a user is measured from the timestamp of their last recorded app logout.
- **Reactivation:** Auto-deactivated app users can be easily [reactivated](https://help.sanas.ai/v1/docs/how-to-deactivate-a-user) at any time.

### Before You Begin

- Ensure you are assigned with the **Admin** role on the Sanas Portal to modify the configuration.

### Procedure

1. Log in to the [Sanas Portal (opens in new tab)](https://portal2.sanas.ai/) using your credentials.
2. Navigate to the **Settings** page, then scroll down to the **Deactivate Inactive App Users** section.
3. Enable the **Deactivate Inactive App Users** option and define the inactivity duration.
   
   .png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A53%3A22Z&se=2026-07-18T07%3A04%3A22Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=AMsAUxKuKlxcRcJRYmonjG8qfShyZqXtowiw0P%2BoabQ%3D)

4. Click **Save** to apply the changes.
5. Once deactivated, the app users gets moved to the [**Deactivated users**](https://help.sanas.ai/v1/docs/review-deactivated-app-users) page.

### FAQs

**How is user inactivity determined?**  
**Answer**: Inactivity is calculated based on the last time the user used the Sanas app.

**Can I re-activate deactivated users?**  
**Answer**: Yes, deactivated users (whether automatically or manually) can be re-activated. For instructions, refer to the guide on [re-activating app users](https://help.sanas.ai/v1/docs/how-to-deactivate-a-user).

### Support

**Need help?** Get in touch with our [Support Team](mailto:support@sanas.ai) for assistance.
