# Manage Roles and Permissions

- Updated on Jul 1, 2026
- Published on Mar 9, 2026

- 2 minute(s) read

### Overview

This guide provides step-by-step instructions for managing custom roles in the Sanas Portal. Custom roles let you define specific permissions tailored to your organization's needs.

For an introduction to roles, default permissions, and scope, see [Portal Roles](https://help.sanas.ai/portalv3/docs/portal-roles). To assign roles to administrators, see [Manage Portal Users](https://help.sanas.ai/portalv3/docs/invite-portal-admins).

### Before you begin

- **Permission:** You must have **Account Settings (Full Access)** or be an Account Admin.
- **Scope:** Role management is only available at the account level. Select your account at the top of the group tree.

### Create a custom role

1. Select your account from the group tree.
2. Navigate to **Groups & Users > Role Management**.
3. Click **Create New Role**.
.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A39Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=foZvZLAxp5YqbXyXYJAtYE4Bg7ArQ%2B3jXmacdt%2Bw3%2Bo%3D)
4. Enter a descriptive **Role Name** (e.g., "Reporting Analyst" or "Regional Support Lead").
5. Define permissions by selecting the access level for each category:
   - **Full Access** — Read and write
   - **View Only** — Read only
   - **None** — No access
6. Click **Create**.
.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A39Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=foZvZLAxp5YqbXyXYJAtYE4Bg7ArQ%2B3jXmacdt%2Bw3%2Bo%3D)

The new role is now available for assignment in _Manage Access_.

### Delete a custom role

You can delete custom roles that are no longer needed. The role deletion is only possible when there is no Portal user assigned to that role.

1. Reassign any admins on the role to a different role first. See [Manage Portal Users](https://help.sanas.ai/portalv3/docs/invite-portal-admins#update-the-assigned-role-or-group).
2. Select your account in the Group tree.
3. Navigate to **Groups & Users > Role Management**.
.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A39Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=foZvZLAxp5YqbXyXYJAtYE4Bg7ArQ%2B3jXmacdt%2Bw3%2Bo%3D)
4. Click the ellipsis (⋮) next to the custom role and select **Delete**.
.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-07-18T06%3A13%3A39Z&se=2026-07-18T06%3A25%3A39Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=foZvZLAxp5YqbXyXYJAtYE4Bg7ArQ%2B3jXmacdt%2Bw3%2Bo%3D)
5. Confirm the deletion.

> _Note: Default roles cannot be deleted. Deleted custom roles are permanently removed and cannot be recovered._

### Export Roles List

For reporting and analytics purposes, portal admins who have access to an account level can export or download the list of Roles, including custom ones within their organization.

1. From **Groups & Users**, select **Role Management**.
2. The export tab with the same label is on the **right** side.
3. Export file format is currently **.xlsx**.

### FAQ

#### Can I modify or delete default roles?

No. Default roles (Account Admin and Group Admin) are system-generated and cannot be changed or deleted.

#### What happens when I update a custom role's permissions?

All admins assigned to that role immediately receive the updated permissions.

#### Can one admin have multiple roles?

No. Each admin is assigned a single role. If broader access is needed, create a custom role with the combined permissions.

#### What are the latest UI enhancements made for a positive user experience?

Users at an account level can now freely resize the table columns to make long details, such as Role Type and Assigned Users, among others, readable. Plus, a sorting option in these columns have been made available in an ascending or descending order.
